Gluten–Free


Gluten is a protein found in grains such as wheat (including kamut and spelt),
barley, rye, malts and triticale. It is added to products to help them expand while
baking and give them a thicker texture.

Gluten – Free Diet

Gluten-free diets are recommended for people diagnosed with celiac disease and
related conditions in order to control the signs and symptoms.

Gluten-free diets allow and encourage the consumption of fruits, vegetables, meats, eggs, and most dairy products.

Foods such as cookies, bread, cereals, pastas and even some salad
dressings should have the gluten-free label. However, as absurd as it may sound,
gluten is sometimes used in products such as ice cream as a stabilizing agent, so
people in a gluten-free diet should always double check the labels while grocery
shopping. It is also important to be careful with cross-contamination.

Gluten- Free Products

Some items labeled as gluten-free do not have a complete absence of gluten, some
may contain what has been classified as a harmless amount. The requirements for a
product to be labeled “gluten-free” vary from country to country. In the USA the FDA
declared the product is allowed to have up to 20 ppm of gluten.

COMMENTS